Flores award

Lend A Hand Award 2022-2023

Past President Lori Barnes Miller presented Springfield Southeast Rotary Club's second Lend-a-Hand Award of 2023 to Jason Flores on May 25.   Jason earned the award for his hard work that resulted in the club becoming a 100% Paul Harris Fellows Club.

Jason joined our club in September 2021.  Despite being relatively new, being the father of three young children, and recently receiving a promotion at Central Trust, he was not intimidated by the challenge of getting all 191 members (as of late 2022) to be Paul Harris Fellows after he became chair of the club’s Rotary Foundation and Benefactor Endowment Committee in July 2022.

Jason wrote many emails, submitted countless forms, made phone calls, and texted members to coordinate donated points.  He submitted all the paperwork for each person to the Rotary Foundation and worked with President Lori Murawski and President-elect Michael Wehrenberg to reach the goal. He then set to work to plan a bigger-than-normal Paul Harris Fellows reception at Highland Springs Country Club on June 1.


Lend A Hand Award 2022-2023

341681748 793396162146863 441382408317254202 n
Springfield Southeast Rotary Club honored Dan Emrie on April 20 with its Lend-a-Hand Award.  This award is for service within the committees and activities of Springfield Southeast.  It's given whenever the Board of Directors feels there is a deserving recipient.

Emrie was honored for his work for 25 years (after retiring after 10 years as one of the original players for our club) as announcer, statistician, and photographer for the annual Rotary Basketball Tournaments to benefit Special Olympics of the Ozarks. That tournament ended in March after 35 years.

Emrie also serves at most of our weekly meetings as the official photographer and posts accounts and photos of the meetings on the club's Facebook page.

Past President Lori Barnes Miller presented the award to Emrie. 

(Photo by Lori Johnson)

Lend A Hand Award History

Southeast Rotary’s Lend a Hand Award was created in 2003 to honor and recognize those individuals who have given exemplary service through our club committees. The award is specifically designed to recognize the grassroots, day-to-day commitments of members during the current Rotary year. Every member of the club is eligible except members of the board of directors. Multiple awards may be given during the Rotary year. All club members are eligible to submit nominations to the Hands-On Committee for consideration.

Mark Vincel
Chris Rice
Steve Scott
Russ RuBert
Sherry Wallace

Terri Eftink
John Horton
Becky Spain
Rick Gilmore

Steve Ownby

Gary Deaver
David Caffey
Scott Gibbons

Tad Mosley

Brad Bodenhausen
Mike Moon
Dennis Whaley

Bill Squires
Judy Bilyeu
Sam Clifton

Lori Barnes
Irwin Cohen
Gerry Lee

Jerry Morgan

Marc Mayer
Mike Pruett
Ned Caldwell

Bill McNeill

Angela Smith
Marc Mayer

Jeff Cumley

Dan Emrie
Jason Flores


Lend A Hand Award Nomination Form

Lend A Hand Award nominations are due to the Hands-On Committee Chair annually by March 31. For more information, contact the Springfield Southeast Rotary office at info@springfieldsoutheastrotary.org.

Download "Lend a Hand Nomination Form.docx"