2016 - 2017 Accomplishments

To read about our 2016 - 2017 accomplishments and financial impact, download our June 2017 Recognition Luncheon program.

Download "Recognition Luncheon Program"

50th anniversary celebration

The Rotary Club of Springfield Southeast was chartered on June 28, 1967.   Current and past club members celebrated the club's 50th anniversary at a banquet at White River Conference Center on Sept. 9, 2017.   Our special guests were John Ashcroft, an honorary club member, and his son, Missouri Secretary of State Jay Ashcroft.

John Ashcroft was a member of our club when he taught at Southwest Missouri State College (now Missouri State University) in the late 1960s and early 1970s.  He left the club to become, consecutively, state auditor, state attorney general, governor, U.S. senator and U.S. attorney general.

In addition to John Ashcroft's keynote talk, the celebration included remembrances by club member Sam Hamra, the first president of the Rotary Club of Springfield Southeast.  We have a video posted on YouTube of Sam talking about early days of the club and his remembrances of John Simpson, a charter member of the club who died in 2017.

These photos are by Ryan Kowalski, a photographer for 417 Magazine, whose co-owner, Gary Whitaker, is a club member.

Click on each photo to see all of it.

Dedication of new pavilion at K-Park

Springfield Southeast Rotary founded K-Park in 2005 in Jordan Valley Park, near the Creamery Arts Center on the northwest corner of East Trafficway at Sherman Avenue, as our Rotary International Centennial Project.     (The K can stand for Kids or for Kinetic Man, the interactive metal sculpture that was the first installation in the park.)  Since then, we have added a climbing rock and a Springfield Wagon replica.  In 2017, we dedicated the colorful blue and yellow pavilion that covers picnic and activity tables.

Newest members

Golftoberfest fundraiser

The funds go for charitable projects and the club's Foundation

Club float trip 2017

Rain didn't stop the fun

Installation of new officers and passing of gavel

June 2017